Birds, old and new

I guess I can count myself as an official amateur birder, now, since feathered critters seem to be all I’m taking pictures of nowadays. I’m overdue for a zoo trip, but until then, I’m honing my picture-taking skills with these small, energetic and thoroughly enjoyable creatures.

Today we attempted some exercise at Joyner Park, but I took my camera, and spent more time bird watching than walking. I kept hearing a red-bellied woodpecker – probably a pair of them – but was unable to locate either.

There are numerous seemingly drab birds darting around the brush and hopping from branch to branch at the park, but a good camera with a zoom lens can reveal surprises.

golden-crowned-kinglet
This pretty little bird appears to be lost.

I snapped picture after picture of a fluttery little specimen jumping from branch to branch, not having any clue what it was. I was able to lighten one of the pictures, and after consulting a bird book, decided it is a golden-crowned kinglet, a bird that lives in southern Alaska and central Canada, but migrates south for the winter. It’s apparently frequently spotted in the North Carolina mountains. I wonder if it will spend the winter here, instead.

I snapped some pictures of a fat mockingbird, but this profile picture turned out best. Mockingbirds are territorial; I’ve seen them chasing all kinds of other birds, and was “attacked” by one myself once. They can be funny, though. I once heard one mimicking a car alarm.

pileated-woodpecker
My husband spotted this one. He was so far back in the branches it was hard to get a good shot.

Apparently, we have plenty of pileated woodpeckers around, although it took finding a camera with a good zoom lens to locate them. I’ve only just started photographing birds, but the colors, and the variety, continue to amaze me. I look forward to discovering more.

american-robin-2
American robin

4 thoughts on “Birds, old and new

      1. I have taken photos many times of birds, not knowing what they were but knowing they were a new bird to me. I go crazy when I get home, downloading and searching what it was, lol. If you haven’t already, you might like keeping track of your photographed birds on a bird lifer list as a hobby. I’ve been doing it for a couple years and am at 148 birds on my lifer list. Just adds to the fun and challenge of birding! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

