October: my favorite color

Quite recently, I’ve rediscovered mornings. Sleeping in used to be a cherished luxury. After my children were born, my body clock eventually adjusted to getting up early, and then my career took a detour. I started working evenings, not getting to bed until after midnight. So, again, I slept late, pretty much on a daily basis.

My new job has more regular, daytime hours, which I appreciate. But I still don’t get up and walk every morning as I’d like to. After a recent day-long drive back to West Virginia, my tight muscles were aching to stretch, and I was ready for a walk “around the hill.”

When I started out, it was just getting light. The birds – mostly robins – chirped greetings to each other.  As the darkness lifted, and the sun peeked over the hills, my power walk became a quest to capture the sunrise.

I walked around the circle, catching glimpses of daybreak – and the mist. Stopping every few minutes, standing on tiptoe, I darted looks between houses and through the woods, trying not to alarm the neighbors.

a-touch-of-pink
An October morning surprise.
sunrise-frame-3
How many of these sunrises did I just not see as a child?

The woods on this road were thick, so I hurried on, and remembered the nearby stub of a road that looks about level with the airport, which is on another hill, on the other side of the river. I might capture a good view there. I walked up and down that street a few times, looking for the right spot to snap a picture.

I must’ve hurried up and down that particular road three times looking for just the right scene, knowing my chance to capture the best colors was quickly fading.

misty-mountain
The sun gave the fog here an orange glow.
pink-sunrise-4-3
October isn’t just orange, red, and yellow – there are hints of pink, too.

I headed farther on down the hill, then, toward the playground, where our bus stop used to be. On the way down, I found the sun . . .

contrail-2
You never know what’s waiting behind a West Virginia hill.

And, a little farther down, one of my favorite trees. Not quite all its leaves were gone . . .

fav-tree-2
It was past peak season for fall colors, but I thought this tree was still picture-worthy.

Down and around I went, looking at the old neighborhood, remembering when. Then it was light, and time to head up one of the many, steep hills I used to dread walking up as a child. It’s funny how things change.

the-last-hill
The last big hill.

Leave a Reply

