Top cats at the St. Louis Zoo

I was lucky enough to visit the St. Louis Zoo twice this year, and while it includes a number of fascinating animals, my main reason for visiting is seeing the big cats. Jaguars, I discovered, can still be found in parts of the southwest.

Tigers are more rare, however. Several sub-species, including the Amur tiger in St. Louis, are critically endangered. Tigers are also the world’s largest cats, and used to be my favorite, but there are so many lovely big cats, it’s difficult to pick just one!

watermarked tiger
I stayed long enough on my last visit to see this tiger enjoy an afternoon bath.

The snow leopard on display was content to “hide” in its tree all day. I say all day, as I was there for five hours, and the lower branches of the tree were where it stayed.

DSCN2576
Can you see why snow leopards are so hard to spot in the wild?

But I was delighted to find the Amur leopard awake, and so close I could see its golden eyelashes as it paced. I could watch big cats all day, and on this visit, I nearly did!

angry amur
I discovered Amur leopards at the St. Louis Zoo. They quickly became one of my favorite big cats.

Check out my big cat videos on my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/writerdiljak.

 

 

Leave a Reply

