There’s more to the zoo than big cats!

There is so much to see in St. Louis, and I am behind in posting both stories and photos. I just returned from my second trip to Missouri’s Gateway to the West, and of course the first place I (re)visited was the zoo.

The St. Louis Zoo is tucked into the southern end of a nearly 1,400-acre marvel called Forest Park. A walk through the zoo is free; parking costs extra, but if you don’t mind the extra walking, there are other areas in Forest Park where you can park at no cost.

My main goal in returning to the zoo was to visit the big cats, and as I stayed for most of the day, I was not disappointed (except by the shy and sleepy snow leopard, which I will talk about in another post).

I missed a lot last time, so chose first to ramble through the River’s Edge. (A cheetah was in there somewhere.) I found some hippos, a rhino, and a Malayan sun bear, which has an exceptionally long tongue, which it uses to capture both insects and honey.

hiding hippos
You’d think it would be hard for hippos to hide, but these two figured out how.
I captured this rhino soaking up the sun.
I captured this rhino soaking up the sun.
Malayan sun bear, mid-yawn.
Malayan sun bear, mid-yawn.

Unfortunately, the cheetah was occupied elsewhere. But I did manage to find a baby elephant.

Baby elephants are still quite big!
Baby elephants are still quite big!

I meandered around a few other areas before making my way over to Red Rocks. Once I see the giraffes, I know I am getting close.  The weather was warmer than my last visit, and the giraffes were much more active.

I am always amazed at how tall giraffes are. Newborn giraffes are six feet tall, and weigh about 150 pounds!

I have more photos to share, but I’ll end this post with one of my other favorite animals: a polar bear.

No visit to the zoo is complete without seeing a polar bear!
No visit to the zoo is complete without seeing a polar bear!

2 thoughts on “There’s more to the zoo than big cats!

Leave a Reply

