Don’t blink; you might miss Winter this year

The calm after the storm.
The calm after the storm.

Although you’d never know by the weather (not including Winter Storm Jonas, which iced us all in for a bit), it’s two days away from February. It’s been a very mild winter, so far, and I want to keep up with my walking.

It was mid-afternoon by the time I made it out, and the wind was brisk, but I had bundled up. I headed over to the park, where I walked past a dog-training class, several kite-flyers, a flock of robins, and scores of dogs, happily walking their humans.

Sleet and freezing rain made walking last weekend a risky proposition.
Sleet and freezing rain made walking last weekend a risky proposition.

It was quite different than last Sunday, when I ventured out into the still-icy neighborhood to get some air.

The roads had been brined in anticipation of snow, but after a pelting of sleet and freezing rain had frozen over, I had to step carefully. By the time I made it to the pond, I decided to head back. Never mind the jogger that kept running cheerily by.

Today, the wind was nippy, but the sun shone, and I had an enjoyable hour-long walk. As I walked to my front door, I saw dark green spears shooting up from the front of my flowerbed, signalling the arrival of crocus blooms.

We may have more unpleasant weather before Winter’s over, but Spring is on the way.

The pecan grove at E. Carroll Joyner Park.
The pecan grove at E. Carroll Joyner Park.

8 thoughts on “Don’t blink; you might miss Winter this year

  1. I live in WV. Last week over a foot of snow covered everything as far as you could see. Now it is sunny and in the 60’s. Our weather is definitely strange. I am happy to have the warmer temperatures. I was not made for winter. Your photo is absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Latoma. I have been seeing pictures family members posted of last week’s snow in WV. I told them it was gorgeous, but I wasn’t jealous! Down here, we don’t get very much snow, but sometimes a bit too much ice. (Any ice is too much when you have to drive.) Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

